Jump to content


- - - - -

No Sounds At All In Game Mods Only


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 toddiwa

toddiwa

    Toddiwa

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada
  • Interests:GPL vintage Formula one
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 26 2019 - 07:56 PM

Just when things were running smoothly, suddenly I get no sound in game when running mods (CA71, Sportscar67). GPL67 still has sound. I have tried re-installing mods - no luck. Has anyone ever encountered this?

#2 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 26 2019 - 09:16 PM

Do you use a different driver name for each mod? If you made the volume for one driver name very quiet the others are independent of that.

I never heard of this kind of thing. Usually it's all sounds or none are working.

#3 webfoot

webfoot

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birmingham England
  • Interests:.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 27 2019 - 03:33 AM

Just a wild guess.

Check your \sound folder.  If all the loose .wav files had gone "missing", leaving just the sound.dat file, then that might explain it.

Otherwise some wierd GPL patching (carsound patch?) or sound driver glitch?

Edited by webfoot, Mar 27 2019 - 03:58 AM.


#4 SV3000

SV3000

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:B.C. Canada
  • Interests:all kinds of racing games
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Mar 27 2019 - 10:45 AM

Also a few wild guess,

Have you checked in-game sound setting to see if the volume slider is properly set. Plugin like GPLShift has hotkey (left/right arrow key) to adjust sound volume, it is possible that sound volume is accidentally turned to zero by the hotkey.

There is also a chance maybe game sound is muted in windows sound mixer panel, or maybe some kind anti-virus program blocked game access to sound device.

#5 Stefan Roess

Stefan Roess

    Denny Hulme

  • GPLLinks Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bavaria, Germany
  • Interests:racing :)
  • Sim interest:GPL and P&G

Posted Mar 27 2019 - 11:00 AM

Strange problem.

Things that could be related:
- Have you recently installed new sound drivers?
- Are you using mono or stereo sounds?

Have you read the GPL FAQ yet?
http://srmz.net/inde...topic=3714&st=0


Edit:
Make a backup of your gpl/sounds folder.
Then delete all files in your gpl/sounds folder.
Install a mod (maybe one you haven`t installed yet, like the 65 mod)
Start the mod.
If you still have no sound delete your sounds folder, then copy your backup sounds folder back into GPL.

Edited by Stefan Roess, Mar 27 2019 - 11:32 AM.


#6 toddiwa

toddiwa

    Toddiwa

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada
  • Interests:GPL vintage Formula one
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 27 2019 - 04:52 PM

Thanks everyone, I looked at all suggestions provided. All sound files are there, Checked drivers - good, checked sound card settings, GPLshift hotkeys, player names make no difference, game sliders  all OK. I then followed Stefan's instructions, installed a new mod (69-xtra) and replaced sound files and it worked - I had sound for 69xtra mod!! When I tried another 69 car this time no sound again.
Would it have anything to do with an HDMI output (my video going out from the laptop to triplehead2go), which is competing with the Realtek audio output?

#7 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,377 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 27 2019 - 07:12 PM

Well, I think that a good check on that would be to plug in headphones to the laptop while driving the car.

#8 robwmack

robwmack

    Jim Clark

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Gilbert Plains, Manitoba, Canada
  • Interests:Motor Racing, Slot Car Racing, Sim Racing, Hockey, Military History
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 28 2019 - 10:33 AM

I had a problem with sound in some of the mods after upgrading to Windows 7 (and then Windows 10). I finally solved it by going to the sound settings page in Windows 10. I believe I had to change the output device setting to be compatible with my sound card.

#9 toddiwa

toddiwa

    Toddiwa

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada
  • Interests:GPL vintage Formula one
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Mar 31 2019 - 10:31 AM

Thanks, I checked with headphones - no output either. I dug into the application and device sound preferences to see if I could change the output. Here's what was going on:
1. Interestingly, when I had the GPL67 (with sound working) open, it appeared in the list of apps as Papyrus window.  
2. When I opened a mod (CA71) the Papyrus window was not there.??

3. I followed Stefan's advice once again and backup/delete sound folder and re-install CA71 mod - lo and behold: Sound again!
4. With the mod still running I checked into the app/device sound preferences again, and the Papyrus window was there (I changed the output from default to Realtek speakers).
5. I experimented with re-starting the mod with my headphones plugged in, and with the laptop speakers trying to see a relationship, but it nothing clear emerged. Sometimes it would start with sounds with or without headphones.

Somehow, the mods are not being recognized for sound output.

#10 toddiwa

toddiwa

    Toddiwa

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winnipeg, Canada
  • Interests:GPL vintage Formula one
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Apr 12 2019 - 08:36 PM

After all the troubleshooting my computer asked for Windows update. Guess what happened? Everything worked fine once again. :yikesss:
Thanks everyone for your help - I do learn something new each time things go awry.

#11 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Apr 13 2019 - 01:40 PM

Blame it on Microsoft is a solution that seems to sadly increase with the number in the OS.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links