Jump to content


- - - - -

Installation Problems


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#21 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 03:46 PM

i just check it and it´s not. I´ve got avast anti virus and it´s very frendly to GPL. at least until now

#22 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 03:49 PM

no Bob. It is not. Do you think I have to install GPL again ?

#23 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 03:51 PM

How do I show GEM+ where is the GPL.exe ?

#24 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 05:24 PM

hi guys
where can I get the glide2x.dll from. without it I can´t start GPL at all

#25 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 05:55 PM

and it is also asking for redline.dll

#26 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 06:00 PM

To what folder name did you install GPL?

Ordinarily, you could just copy your backed up copy of GPL.EXE back. Didn't you have another installation of GPL before?

#27 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 06:53 PM

In the normal Sierra folder. I think I can start the mods by clicking on the GPLs incon. I just tryed to start the 67 mod by clicking gplc67 and it works.But the Gem+ says `fatal error`  and gave me a enormous list from the debug secction

#28 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 07:07 PM

every time I try to launch GPL through the Gem+ either it says that it cannot find the GPL.exe or `a fatal error occurred`

#29 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 09:18 PM

I am trying to access the GPL mods via gplc65, 66, 67, 68, 69. The 68 and 69 mods I cannot access due to something related to sound. I press the green button but nothing happens. the other mods I can access. But I really want to fix the Gem+. When I point where is the GPL.exe it says that it is not valid .exe. Need urgent help please !!!!!

#30 Bob Simpson

Bob Simpson

    The answer man

  • Moderator
  • 2,380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ottawa
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 09:35 PM

How did you install GPL?

#31 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 09:55 PM

I just inserted the cd and it intalled by itself. I had the GPL installer ready and open, but the auto run of the cd installed by itself. I really didn[t understand this, because the original cd would not install without the installer. I can delete everything again and Install GPL if you give some instructions

#32 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 09:57 PM

I am trying to access the GPL mods via gplc65, 66, 67, 68, 69. The 68 and 69 mods I cannot access due to something related to sound. I press the green button but nothing happens. the other mods I can access. But I really want to fix the Gem+. When I point where is the GPL.exe it says that it is not valid .exe. Need urgent help please !!!!!

#33 chris skepis

chris skepis

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 10:04 PM

and also the direct3d7v2 rasterizer is not in the Gem+ anymore and I don´t know how put it back there. I think I´ll have to dowlnoad it again. But I don´t know where from

#34 Wile E. Coyote

Wile E. Coyote

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Interests:Computer hardware, games, running, cycling, lots of stuff.
  • Sim interest:I have no preference

Posted Feb 14 2015 - 11:03 PM

For best results get the latest GPLS installer here:

https://gplps.wordpr...-gpl-installer/

The site for the mods:

http://gpltd.bcsims.com/?ir=Mods

If you want an original install and want to play in 3Dfx, I suggest you take a look at nGlide and read the instructions for installing GPL on the nGlide compatibility page.

http://www.zeus-soft...e/compatibility

#35 Pavel

Pavel

    Bruce McLaren

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minsk, Belarus
  • Interests:Racing, Simracing, Music
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 02:30 AM

There is no need to have three topics about your problem here.
It seems like you don't have all files in your gpl folder. Post your GEM's debug file here.

#36 Andy Clegg

Andy Clegg

    Denny Hulme

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Banbury, UK.
  • Interests:Long distance sports car racing. Touring cars.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 02:44 AM

Chris, here's Glide 2x zip for you.

Attached Files



#37 Cookie

Cookie

    Chris Amon Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Germany near Hockenheim
  • Interests:Historic Motorsport, F1, MotoGP
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 03:36 AM

You installed a "vanilla GPL" :yikesss:  remember it was supposed to use Win98!

For a actual OS you should read the installation guide of Stefan!

#38 Kamei

Kamei

    Chris Irwin

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Old time circuit racing.
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 03:53 AM

View Postchris skepis, on Feb 14 2015 - 05:55 PM, said:

and it is also asking for redline.dll

On this page:
http://wiki.grandpri...eshooting_guide

it says:
Error message "Cannot find Glide.dll and redline.dll ”
  • In your GPL Folder there are two dlls which can be deleted: rast3dfx.dll and renddll.dll. Then GPL won´t ask any more for the other dlls.
Not sure if this is correct, but maybe worth a try :book:

#39 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 04:29 AM

You just need to delete your GPL and install it using the installer 1.07.

If the auto installer start, just stop it or wait untill is done; then go in sierra \GPL without taking out the CD, delete everything and run the installer.

#40 Alter

Alter

    Jochen Rindt

  • Supporter
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:GPL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Feb 15 2015 - 04:45 AM

Hi to all!
I myself have the problem since some months: Get CTD starting TC and 1969 mods. Just tried to rename gem.ini to gem.ini.saved and launched GEM again. Then GEM asks for language, the location of gpl.exe. This would perhaps help chris and can be tried without destroying anything. By the way could the path of  gpl.exe be edited in gem.ini section:

[Installs]
SelectedInstall=0
path0=C:\Sierra\GPL\
exe0=gpl.exe

Alter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links