Jump to content


- - - - -

How to make a track?


  • Please log in to reply
487 replies to this topic

#421 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 05 2018 - 12:46 PM

Hello,

I want to know wich surface could match better this piano


Attached File  piano.jpg   90.29K   44 downloads

#422 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Aug 05 2018 - 04:22 PM

Are you asking about the actual driving surface defined in the trk file or the texture? For the later you have concrete and kerbs which are progressively more slippery then the prior one.

#423 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 05 2018 - 04:51 PM

I ask for driving surface defined in the trk file. I know gpl hasn't a surface with the vibration and grip needed, but I want to know wich is the least bad. When finished the heighs of the pianos a certain amount of laps will be needed to test the surfaces but I have no idea of what must I expect.

Thx Michkov.

#424 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 05 2018 - 06:46 PM

The 3 hard surfaces are all smooth but with decreasing grip.
1 asphalt 100%
2 concrete 96%
3 curb/paint 90%

You can give the different areas a grip that you think replicate the best.

#425 Michkov

Michkov

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Graz
  • Sim interest:I am here to spam and wish to be deleted after registering

Posted Aug 06 2018 - 03:21 AM

Are these the only hard surfaces available? From the guide I gather there are a couple in the 2040s that are hard but they are used as walls in there.

#426 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 06 2018 - 04:28 AM

You can drive on any track surface and you can experiment on that but 1, 2 and 3 are the only one that increase the tires temperature.

#427 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 07 2018 - 12:45 AM

Thx for your replys.

As no great advantages are expected from experiments, 2 and 3 seems the options to be considered. And temperatures are also worthy to keep in mind... (how can you know THAT things? :huh:)

#428 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 16 2018 - 02:43 PM

Hello,

Pianos working, but not adjusted the height definitely as I must decide what to expect from them, but tests are going ok.

New question:

During a replay I use to see scenery changes, a CTD happened with the camera behind the car (F10 when driving) in the Jarama tunnel turn, when you see the straight with all its polys. After adjusting the Fb file, the CTD has desappeared, but the track is still little loaded of polys, so I was surprised by the CTD.

In my old PC, some years ago, in the tunnel turn frames dropped dramatically, but didn't happened a CTD.

I don't know if the CTD is related to the gtk or the TSO file also affects. I'm worried as still are to be added polys to the gtk and the 3do objects still are not completed, and I don't want to restrain visibility ahead.


When driving you have drop of frames and in the replays CTDs?

Edited by quico, Aug 16 2018 - 03:34 PM.


#429 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 16 2018 - 04:57 PM

Starting from zero:

It seems to be a bad setting of 3rd and 4th columns of FB file. I have not a clear understanding of them and It seems that some 3do,s are drawn twice. I saw somewhere that they can be set to zero but I put almost the same values as in 2nd and 1st columns. It will take some work to get it clear but this is track building!

#430 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 17 2018 - 05:01 AM

Is best if you keep 3rd and 4th values always to 0 unless you have a hairpin with the track seen when you are on the other side already; sometimes using 3 and 4 avoid the CTD if your car spin at the hairpin (ON OFF of big sections (polys) of the track).
For experience, I noticed that in those areas you just keep 3rd value same as 2nd and 4th same as 1st.
For other areas you leave them 0 and work only on 1st and 2nd columns.

#431 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Aug 17 2018 - 09:33 AM

In the beggining I set the whole columns 2=3 and 1=4, but I'm to do what you say. I think it's not necessary to considere any of the jarama close turns as hairpins but I'll see if it's needed.

Thanks Ginetto

#432 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 04 2018 - 09:17 AM

Attached File  0001.jpg   180.28K   40 downloadsAttached File  0002.jpg   170.09K   42 downloads


Hello,

I want to know what kind of magic is this where in one meter all the background and track behind disappears or if it is the Langolier's attack.

If magic, a potion to restore the missing polys is needed. In case are the Langoliers... uhhhh, run faster than them.


Changing the camera forward or backward does nothing about.

Edited by quico, Sep 04 2018 - 11:11 AM.


#433 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 04 2018 - 11:06 AM

That might be a FB file issue.

#434 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 04 2018 - 12:16 PM

Can't find anything but keep searching. Not a big problem if it couldn't be solved as the lack of track behind the car is only a frame or two and the background is not too important there.

Thx Ginetto

Edited by quico, Sep 04 2018 - 12:17 PM.


#435 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 05 2018 - 04:43 AM

Did you try to add row 3 and 4 values in that particular area in the FB and see what happens?

Oh, is there one line every 39.014 meters in the FB file? (no less, can be 1 more)

#436 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 05 2018 - 07:07 AM

Had the temptation yesterday but not really animated to do it untill reading you now. Adding three values in 3rd column has been enough to solve.

Thanks Ginetto.

Edited by quico, Sep 05 2018 - 07:15 AM.


#437 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 03:57 PM

I've started with grv file to know the incidence of the increased load of polys.


I have used GPL Replay Analizer to begin with it. Is the best option?

The GPLRA has two options, old and new way, and seems to be better the old way. The resolution used 0.5m (minimum) but I don't know if it's better to use a medium value to have a file with less lines to handle. Frames are affected by resolution or only by the amount of goove polys?

Have taken a groove.mip from other track, but in mine it can't be seen. What step I miss?

It seems to need a lot of work this file, not even using a spreadsheet.

#438 ginetto

ginetto

    GPL track editor

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lombardia, Italia
  • Interests:Mountain
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 04:11 PM

To work the grv file grab the GrvEd utility
http://srmz.net/inde...rved#entry18937

You can try to experiment with the GPLRA options and see what gives the best result.
Frames are affected by the poly count.

Groove.mip might be rotated by 90 deg? (the ones from original tracks are).
You also need a line in the TEX file:
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
But I guess you already know that  :)

#439 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 04:48 PM

View Postginetto, on Sep 06 2018 - 04:11 PM, said:

Groove.mip might be rotated by 90 deg? (the ones from original tracks are).
You also need a line in the TEX file:
4003 0 0 10.0 10.0 groove
But I guess you already know that  :)

Reading you I remember now have red about tex.file not so long ago, but it's difficult to remember WHERE each thing is. Also remember now about start/finish line that must be in tex.file, isn't it? Wich code?

I don't no the use of rotate the groove.mip, Can you explain?

Going to get the GrvEd.


Many many thanks again, Ginetto

Edited by quico, Sep 06 2018 - 04:49 PM.


#440 quico

quico

    Denny Hulme

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid - Spain
  • Interests:GPL & GTL
  • Sim interest:GPL

Posted Sep 06 2018 - 05:48 PM

GrvEd installed: :yikes: :yikes: :yikes:


I'm thinking seriously to return to Mario Kart :sleepy:

Edited by quico, Sep 06 2018 - 05:48 PM.





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sim Racing Links